Chest up!

Today was a Skillz day – and an okay day for me… Not bad, but not all that good either.

We worked on snatches again this week. I don’t mind – it’s one of those skills that’s hard to get, and even harder to master. And mine are.. not that great.

We first started with the power snatch, 6-6-6, from the ground. No need for a squat. I sort of see this one as the less skill-oriented of snatches, where muscling it works, too. It not how you should do it, and I’m sure there’s a world of details to the move, but it’s how I perceive it. I went up to 105lbs. Biggest issue at almost every lift was keeping my chest up, pushing it out and up, and looking upward to get a momentum while lifting.

With that in mind, I tackled the next set of snatches, hang squat snatches. So from the hip, and with a squat,  4-4-4.  This time, I kept the weight at 65lbs, and tried to concentrate solely on the technique, keeping my chest up, jumping and diving/pulling under the bar. It’s hard to explain… I didn’t feel like I would be breaking records today, or that I could go heavy – might as well get decent-ish technique.

Last was power+squat snatch 2-2-2-1-1-1, each rep it’s actually 2 movements in touch and go: power snatch and a full squat snatch. For the sets of ones, I added some weight, and lifted at 85lbs. Again, not much weight, but enough to feel it and be able to concentrate on the technique.

I like to think it’s improved a little bit and that I’m looking more often up. I had one fall, and the coach was looking. He said he knew why I fell, but wanted me to try and explain to see if I knew why, too. “Didn’t look up” Yep, that and I dove early which got me off-balanced.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

