Rope Burn

Today was a nice training day. Still hurt, mind you, but still good – the mind was in a good place.

The skill was double unders and rope climb. My DU haven’t changed – I still suck at them, but I decided a while back that they would not get the better of me, and they haven’t. I still frown when I whip myself, but it’s form trying to understand what I’m doing wrong. The rope climb is ok… not great, but I don’t suck at it either. I’ve yet to master a controlled descent – one where I won’t burn my ankle. And yes, saying I’ve got rope burn on an ankle sounds terribly wrong out of context. 🙂

The WOD was… partially unpleasant. 12 min AMRAP: 30 squats, 15 burpees, 30 sit-ups  I did 3 rounds and 5 burpees. I paced myself throughout and keep my mind quiet. Didn’t look too much at the clock or at the people around me. I was was in a good zone… not beast mode, but one where I stand strong. I most likely would’ve done better, but the sit-ups got the best of me. It’s been a while since I got in that zone. Felt good.

On the butterfly pull-up front, I had a smallish break through. I got advice on my legs – keeping them together instead of apart while doing the butterfly kip. It generate more energy and I finally got 3 in a row, and quite easily, too! 🙂

On the muscle up front: still can’t 🙂

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

