Something fun

Today, our coach decided to do what he calls “something fun”, which basically means mashing together movements for a WOD and see how miserable sweaty he can get us.

But before I get to the fun stuff, we had the skill part to go through: front squat hold. It’s easy, in the front rack position, bar resting under the chin, on the shoulders, you squat, hold the for 3-5 seconds, and come back up. 4 sets of 4.  My wrist is still crappy from when I PR’d my Front Squat a while back – I felt it during the warm up. So I stayed in the light weights, working on technique and wrist/elbow/shoulder mobility, only going up to 85lbs in my last set.

And now, on to this evening’s pleasantries: 15-12-9 for time – burpee squat cleans 115lbs and pullup toes to bar. The later movement is simple, do a pullup, then a toes to bar. The other one…

Hands on the bar, you do the push up part of the burpee, then come up as if you were jumping, but instead you get in the deadlift position, do the first pull to mid-thigh, then the second pull to shoulders and squat in the clean position. Nothing better after the squat holds. Because of the wrist, I scaled down to 75lbs, and it took me 13:10.

I wouldn’t quite say it was “fun”, though.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Leave a Reply

