Omar

By in the box after a nice long weekend where I basically threw the paleo diet out the window. Every now and then, you need this.

And tonight, I paid for it, too. We started with some shoulder mobility, always good to loosen them shoulders still stiff form Angie. We then moved on to the WOD, Omar.

You know it’s going to be a nasty thing when the WOD has a name.

So, for time: 10 thrusters 95lbs, 15 bar-facing burpees, 20 thrusters 95lbs, 25 bar-facing burpees, 30 thrusters 95lbs, 35 bar-facing burpees. Bar-facing burpees are somewhat like the lateral jump over the bar ones, except that you face them instead of being parallel to the bar. Jumping by sets of 10 each time for the thrusters wasn’t fun either.

It was demanding, it was brutal, I sweat buckets and I did something I’d never done before – I took off my shirt. You see, it’s something that happens in crossfit, guys remove their shirts, for a variety of reasons: show off muscle, impeded movements, cooling attempt. Some girls will also do the same. It’s something that seems accepted in crossfit society. Never quite saw why some did it… I don’t have the muscles to show off and ever since I trained in Thailand, heat and sweat have never bothered me. Turns out that all that sweat soaked by the only cotton training shirt I had was impeding my movement during thrusters. The shirt clung to my shoulders and back, pulling and stretching. It got annoying! So I took it off. 😉   It did help for movement, but not for endurance… nasty thrusters!  It took me 17:14 to finish. I honestly didn’t even think I’d finish… I figured I’d hit the 20 min cap.

Supplements

1 scoop (10g) Beyond Yourself AMRAP (BCAA) with 12oz water – during training, 1 scoop (30g) Beyond Yourself Whey ISO in 500ml water – after training

Oh, and my friend, Nicola, who competed in the Europe Regionals, finished 4th overall! Way to kick ass!

Leave a Reply

