GI Jane

Today was a good day. When I saw the WOD, I was dreading it, but no, it was pretty ok.

The skill tonight was clean and jerk, 1RM. I had 15min to do my 1 rep max. I started with a weight I knew I could get up, 135lbs. I’ve done 135lbs thrusters, I can clean and jerk it. My goal was to double my last recorded PR: 85lbs. Ok, it’s been a while since when did a 1 max rep…  I got progressively up to 175lbs, which I couldn’t get up. Came close, but the elbows wouldn’t lock. SO I retreated a little bit, went for 165 – success! Move on for my last try to 170lbs, double my last PR, and I managed to lift it. Pretty happy.

And now, the WOD: G.I. Jane. 100 burpee pullups for time. That’s it. You do your burpee, then jump to do your pullup. 20min cap. I took a strategic approach to it: sets of 10 with 15 second breaks in-between. That way I kept a good rhythm and would kill myself/cardio along the way. It took me 12:50Rx, so I averaged around 10 burpees per minute. It also helps to have a good impulsion – I didn’t have to burn extra energy to do the pullup.

Oh, there was an option B, should you not want to try G.I Jane: 12.1. Yep, 7 minutes to do as many burpees as possible. Sucks both way…

So I entered dreading what was lying ahead, and came out with a PR and a decent time for a (in the end) good workout.

Leave a Reply

