Pistol Squats

No so a great day to train today… It’s raining, my knee hurts (getting old and surgery) and the skill was pistol squats. Pistol squats are one legged squats – the other leg is stretched in front of you. You need strong quads, good balance and some ankle flexibility. Quads are getting there, strength-wise, balance is OK and ankle, well, no at the moment. I’m slowly getting the hang of it, though. The right leg doesn’t go low enough, but that’s normal with the ankle. I’m very careful with it and make sure I don’t use it or stretch it too much.

The WOD, on the other hand, was good. 17min AMRAP: 10 toes to bar, 20 wall balls 20lbs. I did try beforehand a few wall ball shots, to see if my ankle would hurt or stretch too much. It was OK again, but I still too it at a slower pace. After a while, fatigue and the desire to go faster take a toll on the form, and that’s when I go aggravate things. I focused more on my technique, deep squats and good high shots. A few went sideways, and stepping to the side brought a twinge once or twice – a great motivator to shoot straight!

I still can’t kip the toes 2 bar, though, and it’s driving me mad. I can kip pullups and knees 2 elbows, but not T2B. Best I can do is a slight kip backwards (half swing in hollow position) in order to then swing up for another rep. There’s a piece of the puzzle missing in this, and I can’t find what…sigh.

Oh, and I did 5 rounds and 15 wall balls.

Leave a Reply

